I woke up to a text from my mother saying that Merle Haggard was dead. I wasn’t even awake good, and I was devastated. I’ve listened to Merle since I was a little girl, barefoot in the yard, with my granddaddy working on cars and blasting Merle from the car’s stereo. No one will fill his shoes that’s for sure. What a loss to the REAL country music world. One day soon all we will be left with in the country music world will be the ass shaking, stage falling, wannabes. Rest in Peace dear Merle, a true outlaw and talented musician, who needed no introduction. I saw him and Bob Dylan at the Orpheum theater in Memphis, TN, few years ago, and Merle was so amazing. When he sang silver wings, my heart just swelled. I love you, Merle, and you sure will be missed. You’ll always be, “My Favorite Memory of All.” 

